エソロジーの中で育つ (2)

学部時代
父と祖父は私がベリオールカレッジへ行ったドーキンス家の9人に続くよう熱望した。両親はいつも前向きでいようとベストを尽くすトマス先生に会いに行った。「彼は何とかオックスフォードに引っかかるかもしれません。でもベリオールはちょっと望みが高すぎでしょう」。それでも私はベリオールを受験し、トマス先生の予想を裏切った。いやおそらく先生のおかげだ。彼は夜に自宅で私のための補講をしてくれたし、そのための謝礼も受け取らず、学校にも知らせなかったのだから。サンダーソンがしたであろう事をした彼はやはり偉大な教師だった。そして私はベリオールへ入った。

存在への深遠な疑問[the deep questions of existence]への興味を抱く前、オックスフォードの二年目まで私は深みにはまっていた。それからその問題の解決について生物学の貢献が本当に大いに実りあると気づいた。私が自分の人生から何か得たものがあるとすれば、最初に私を育てたオックスフォードのチュートリアル制度だった。感受性の強い19歳への影響を考えてみて欲しい。教科書は、あらゆる質問に対して標準化された回答が存在するという概念全体とともに過去のものとなった。世界的なすばらしいライブラリの立ち上げに私は関わった。オリジナルの研究論文に基づく読むべき文献リストとともに私は毎週そこに送られ、エッセイを書くよう求められ、議論となりそうな問題に関して自分自身の立場をはっきりさせるために証拠を吟味した。目もくらむような経験だった。私は賞賛を様々な場所で発表した。David Palfreymanの『The Oxford Tutorial: ‘Thanks, you taught me how to think’』(2003)の一例を挙げよう。私はヒトデの水管系の深遠な解明に関する自分のエッセイを取り上げた。

私はヒトデの水力学に関して何もかもを覚えているが、重要なのは事実ではない。重要なのは私たちがそれを見つけるためにどのように励まされたかだ。私たちは教科書を詰めこんだだけでなく、図書館に行って本を古いものから新しいものまで調べたのだ。私たちはその問題の世界的権威に一週間で近づけるところまで近づくために、オリジナルの研究論文を追い続けた。毎週のチュートリアルによる激励は、みんなヒトデの水力学やそれに関するものをとことん読むことを意味していた。一週間にわたって眠り、食べ、そしてヒトデの水力学の夢を見たことを思い出す。ヒトデの管足は私のまぶたの裏を行進した。水圧式の叉棘はうろつき、海水は私のまどろむ脳で脈打った。エッセイを書くことはカタルシスだったし、週の全てはチュートリアルによって正当化された。そして次の週には新しいテーマと、図書館で呼び出される新しいイメージのお祭り騒ぎがあった。私たちは教育を受けていた…

ニコ・ティンバーゲンは軟体動物の講師として私の人生にやってきた。彼は蠣への愛着をのぞけば、グループで親近感のようなものを表明したことしたことはなかった。それでもいくぶん無作為にそれぞれの講師に門を手渡す学科の伝統に合わせてくれた[but he played along with the department’s tradition of handing out to each lecturer a phylum, more or less at random. ]。彼の講義の思い出として残っているのは素早い板書と、クセがあるが明らかにオランダ風ではない彼の深い声(小さな男性にしては驚くほど深い)、そして人好きのする笑顔だ(おじのようだった。今の私よりもずっと若かったはずだが)。翌年、彼はまたしても、今度は動物行動の講師だった。暖かみのある笑顔は彼自身のテーマへの情熱を伴って広がっていた。レイヴングラスでの最盛期には、私は彼が撮った卵の殻を捨てるユリカモメの映像に魅了された。特にグラフを作るための彼のやり方が好きだった。彼は基準になるよう棒を砂の上に置き、データポイントのために注意深く卵の殻を並べた。なんてニコらしいやりかただろう。なんてパワーポイントらしくないんだろう。

その頃にはニコはロバート・ハインドやダニー・レーマンらの影響を受け『本能の研究』(1951)の多くを否定していた。まだ『動物の社会行動』には忠誠を誓っていたのだが。後に登場した「社会生物学的」な後知恵で考えれば、その本の大部分も今では『本能の研究』とおなじように退けられるだろう。現在の理論のどれだけが将来、最終的に否定されることになるだろうか。社会行動の「遺伝子視点」が関係するところでは、それほど多くはないと思うのだが、しかし私にそんなことが言えるだろうか?

ニコの講義、彼の書くもの、研究、そしてオックスフォードとレイヴングラスでの多くの大学院生の指導は、彼は積極的に教えることはしなかったけれども、実りが多かったに違いない。ベリオールでの私の教官、比類なきピーター・ブリュネは、私の最後から二つめの学期に4つのチュートリアルを与えるようなんとかニコを説得するのに成功した。ニコはオックスフォードのチュートリアルの原則を極端なところまで持って行った。他のチューターが問題に関する文献リストを渡すところを、ニコは院生の一人が書いた未発表の博士論文を私に手渡しただけだった。私はその論文に関してエッセイを書き、批評し、図書館へ行って参考文献を調査し、研究を進めるための将来の計画を練ることになった。実質的に、一週間丸ごと博士号審査員のようなことをし、次の週にはまた別の論文に対してそうすることが私の学部での役割になった(のちに私自身が院生としてチューターを務め始めたとき、一つの論文を手渡すだけのティンバーゲン方式を一、二回試してみた。だがニコと違って飛び抜けて能力のある学生だけにそうした)。ニコとの間に4つのチュートリアルを持っていたが、私がしたのはそれだけだった。私は生化学研究の予定を放りなげてニコの門を叩いた。私は動物行動研究グループに加わることができただろうか?できたのだ。それは私のキャリアの転機となった。

Undergraduate
My father and grandfather were keen for me to follow nine earlier members of the Dawkins family into Balliol College, Oxford. My parents went to see Mr. Thomas, who did his best to be cheerful. “Well, he might just scrape into Oxford, but Balliol is probably aiming too high.” Nevertheless I applied to Balliol, and Mr. Thomas, despite – or more probably because of – his misgivings, had me round at his house in the evenings for extra coaching – for which he would have received no extra payment and no recognition from the school. He was just a great teacher, doing what Sanderson would have done. And he got me into Balliol.

I was in well into my second year at Oxford before my interest in the deep questions of existence, and biology’s contribution to solving them, really found room to flourish. If I have made anything of my life, it was the Oxford tutorial system that first made me. Imagine the effect on an impressionable nineteen-year-old. Textbooks became a thing of the past, together with the whole notion that there existed a received answer to every question. I had the run of one of the world’s great libraries. I was sent there each week with a list of readings from the original research literature, and required to write an essay, evaluating the evidence to make my own mind up about what might often be a controversial question. What a heady experience. My later panegyric was published in a variety of places, including David Palfreyman’s (2001) collection, The Oxford Tutorial: ‘Thanks, you taught me how to think’. By way of example, I mentioned my essay on the abstrusely detailed subject of the starfish water vascular system:
I remember the bare facts about starfish hydraulics but it is not the facts that matter. What matters is the way in which we were encouraged to find them. We didn’t just mug up a textbook, we went into the library and looked up books old and new; we followed trails of original research papers until we had made ourselves as near world-authorities on the topic at hand as it is possible to become in one week. The encouragement provided by the weekly tutorial meant that one didn’t just read about starfish hydraulics, or whatever the topic was. For that one week I remember that I slept, ate and dreamed starfish hydraulics. Tube feet marched behind my eyelids, hydraulic pedicellariae quested and seawater pulsed through my dozing brain. Writing my essay was the catharsis, and the tutorial was the justification for the entire week. And then the next week there would be a new topic and a new feast of images to be conjured in the library. We were being educated . . .

Niko Tinbergen entered my life as the lecturer on Molluscs. He announced no special affinity for that group save a fondness for oysters, but he played along with the department’s tradition of handing out to each lecturer a phylum, more or less at random. From those lectures, I recall his swift blackboard drawings; his deep voice (surprisingly deep for a small man) accented but not obviously Dutch, and his kindly smile (avuncular as I thought it then, although he must have been much younger than I am now). In the following year he again lectured to us, this time on Animal Behaviour, and the avuncular smile broadened with enthusiasm for his own subject. In the heyday of Ravenglass, I was enchanted by his film on eggshell removal by blackheaded gulls. I especially liked his method of making graphs – laying out sticks on the sand for axes, with strategically placed eggshells for data points. How very Niko. How very un-Powerpoint.

Niko had by then, under the influence of Robert Hinde, Danny Lehrman and others, disowned much of The Study of Instinct (Tinbergen 1951). He was still loyal to Social Behaviour in Animals (Tinbergen 1953) even though, with the ‘sociobiological’ hindsight that came later, much of that book now seems nearly as disownable as The Study of Instinct. I wonder how much of our present theory will eventually be disowned by the hindsights of the future. I suspect not much, where the ‘gene’s eye view’ of social behaviour is concerned, but I would say that, wouldn’t I?

Niko’s lectures, his writing and research, and his supervising of numerous graduate students in Oxford and Ravenglass, must have richly filled his time and he didn’t do much tutoring. My mentor at Balliol, the incomparable Peter Brunet, somehow managed to persuade him to give me four tutorials in my penultimate term. Niko carried the principle of the Oxford tutorial to a quirky extreme. Where other tutors gave out a reading list that covered a topic, Niko would hand me nothing more than an unpublished doctoral thesis by one of his graduate students. I was to write an essay around the thesis, criticize it, go into the library to sleuth down its bibliography, and plan future research to carry it further. In effect, my undergraduate task was to play at being a doctoral examiner for a week, and then again the following week with a different thesis. (Later, when I myself started tutoring as a graduate student, I once or twice experimented with the Tinbergen formula of handing out a single thesis as an essay topic – but, unlike Niko, I dared to do it only with exceptionally gifted students.) I had just four tutorials with Niko and that was all it took. I threw out my plans to do biochemical research and applied instead to Niko: could I join the Animal Behaviour Research Group? I could. And it was the turning point in my career.